BSC researcher Rosa M. Badia receives the Euro-Par Achievement Award 2019

30 August 2019

Recipients are researchers with outstanding merits in parallel computing.

Rosa M. Badia, Workflows and Distributed Computing group manager at Barcelona Supercomputing Center (BSC), has received the Euro-Par Achievement Award 2019. Recipients of the award must have had an extraordinary impact on parallel processing, and have contributed significantly to the Euro-Par conference series. In his address, Prof. Christian Lengauer described Rosa M Badia as one of the most prominent scientists in high-performance computing in Spain who contributed greatly to the visibility of the Barcelona Supercomputing Center (BSC). Lengauer highlighted Badia’s allegiance to Euro-Par through the years. She served as chair for several topics and co-authored over 17 papers in the conference series.

Rosa M. Badia expressed her gratitude to the steering committee for the award and stated that it was not only due to her merits, but due to her whole team at BSC and thanks to the support of the BSC direction to her activities. She was specially grateful to this award due to her affiliation to Euro-Par. Along the years she has been able to contribute to the conference in multiple ways, as paper contributor and presenter, as topic chair or co-chair, as workshop organiser and tutorial presenter. She stressed the importance of events such as Euro-Par, which are not only relevant for the quality of the research contributions presented but also because of the people attending the event and the opportunity to start and continue research collaborations, and that in Euro-Par she does not only find colleagues but also good friends. Finally, Badia expressed her wish that this award helps to encourage young women to follow the studies on IT, where women are a minority, and to the research in this field.

Euro-Par is a major series of European conferences on parallel processing. The Euro-Par Steering Committee has granted the Euro-Par Achievement Award at the yearly Euro-Par conference since 2008 individuals who have made special contributions to parallel processing. The 2019 edition of Euro-Par was held in Göttingen, Germany, from August 26 to 30. It was hosted at the Georg-August-University Göttingen and organized by the Gesellschaft für wissenschaftliche Datenverarbeitung mbH Göttingen - GWDG.

Past recipients are:

2018: David Keyes (King Abdullah University of Science and Technology, Saudi Arabia)
2017: Ian Foster (University of Chicago/Argonne National Lab, USA)
2016: Arnold L. Rosenberg (Northeastern University, Boston, U.S.A.)
2015: Mateo Valero (Barcelona Supercomputing Center, Spain)
2014: Henri E. Bal (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
2013: Arndt Bode (TU Munich, Germany)
2012: Barbara Chapman (University of Houston, U.S.A.)
2011: Michel Cosnard (INRIA, France)
2010: Jack Dongarra (University of Tennessee / Oak Ridge National Laboratory, U.S.A.)
2009: Paul Feautrier (ENS Lyon, France)
2008: Ron Perrott (Oxford e-Research Centre, U.K.)

About Euro-Par

Euro-Par is the prime European conference covering all aspects of parallel and distributed processing, ranging from theory to practice, from small to the largest parallel and distributed systems and infrastructures, from fundamental computational problems to full-fledged applications, from architecture, compiler, language and interface design and implementation, to tools, support infrastructures, and application performance aspects. Euro-Par’s unique organization into topics provides an excellent forum for focused technical discussion, as well as interaction with a large, broad and diverse audience.