Primary tabs

Principal Investigator (PI): Prof. Mateo Valero

Mateo Valero, born in 1952 (Alfamén, Zaragoza), obtained his Telecommunication Engineering Degree from the Technical University of Madrid (UPM) in 1974 and his Ph.D. in Telecommunications from the Technical University of Catalonia (UPC) in 1980. He has been teaching at UPC since 1974; since 1983 he has been a full professor at the Computer Architecture Department. He has been Chair of the Computer Architecture Department and the Dean of the Computer Engineering  School (https://people.ac.upc.es/mateo).

His research is in the area of computer architecture, with special emphasis on high performance computers: processor organization, memory hierarchy, systolic array processors, interconnection networks, numerical algorithms, compilers and performance evaluation. Professor Valero has co-authored over 600 publications: over 450 in Conferences and the rest in Journals and Books Chapters. He was involved in the organization of more than 300 International Conferences. He has given over 400 talks in conferences, universities and companies. Since May 2004, he is the director of the Barcelona Supercomputing Center, the National Center of Supercomputing in Spain www.bsc.es.
Professor Valero has been honoured with several awards. Among them the Eckert-Mauchly Award, the most important award in the world to recognize research in the field of computer architecture by the IEEE, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and the ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery. In 2008 he was member of  “Hall of fame” at ICT European Program, and selected as one of the 25 most influent european researchers in Information Technologies. In 2009 he received the Harry H. Goode Award, awarded by IEEE. In 2013 he received the ACM Distinguished Service Award.
He also received the Narcis Monturiol Award presented by the Generalitat (Government) de Catalunya in April 1994; the Salva i Campillo award presented by the Catalan Telecommunication Engineers Association in January 1996; Spain´s most prestigious award in recognition of outstanding basic research, the King Jaime I award presented by the Generalitat Valenciana, in July, 1997; the Spanish National Julio Rey Pastor award, in recognition of research in Mathematics and/or IT technologies presented by the Spanish Ministery of Science and Technology in October, 2001; in the 2006 he was awarded with the Spanish National Award “Leonardo Torres Quevedo” that recognizes the research in engineering; the First Award “Distintion FibIT  to recognize research” presented by the Cercle FIBER, the Association of graduates students of the Computer Science Faculty  (FIB) of Barcelona in May, 2002; the Award “Distintion in recognition of research and the promotion of university research” presented by the Generalitat de Catalonia (July, 2003); and the Lifetime Award “Spanish Engineer in Telecommunications” presented by the Spanish Association of Telecommunication´s Engineers (October,  2004). In 2005, he received the Lifetime Award “Merits to Research” presented by the INP, Instituto Politécnico Nacional de Méjico and the Lifetime Award ARITMEL to the “Spanish Engineer on Computer Science”. In 2005 he also received the Premio Cambrescat for the best professional trajectory in the field on Information Technology and Communication, awarded by the Barcelona Chamber of Commerce, and was recognised as Aragon Scientist of the Year by the “Casas Regionales de Aragon”. He has also received two collective awards: as CEPBA’s Director, he received the 1994 Ciutat de Barcelona Technology Award, and as the Past Chair of the Computer Architecture Department, he received the “Fundación Universidad-Empresa” Award to the University Department with the best European research projects in 1992. In 2006 he was awarded by the Catalan Foundation for Research and Innovation as a researcher who have made a significant contribution to the development of science and technology in Catalonia. In 2007, he received, the special Award “Aragonés of the year 2007” to recognize research and he was elected knight of the “Royal Association of knights of the Monestir of Yuste”. In 2008 he was awarded the “Aragón Award” , the most important award given by the Government of Aragón. In 2008 he was also named Honorary Doctor by the University of Chalmers and by the University of Belgrade and in 2009, he was elected A member of the“Academia Europaea”, the “Academy of Europe” and  he was named Honorary Doctor by the University of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria in Spain. In 2010, he was named Honorary Doctor by the University “Veracruzana”, in México, in 2011 he was named Honorary Doctor by the University of Zaragoza in Spain and in 2013 by the University Complutense de Madrid. 
In December 1994, Professor Valero became a founding member of the Royal Spanish Academy of Engineering. In 2005 he was elected Correspondant Academic of the Spanish Royal Academy of Mathematics, Physics and Natural Sciences. In 2006, he was elected Academic of the Royal Academy of Science and Arts.  In 2012 he was elected Correspondant Academic of the Mexican Academy of Science. In 2000 he became a Fellow of the IEEE, the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. In 2002, he became an Intel Distinguished Research Fellow and a Fellow of the ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery. In 1998 he won a “Favourite Son” Award of his home town, Alfamén (Zaragoza) and in 2006, his native town of Alfamén named their Public College after him.