Mateo Valero awarded an honorary degree by the Universidad Veracruzana

The Universidad Veracruzana (UV), located in the Mexican state of Veracruz, has conferred an honorary doctoral degree on Professor Mateo Valero, director of the Barcelona Supercomputing Center (BSC). The president of the Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (UPC), Antoni Giró, delivered the oration for Professor Valero.

At the ceremony, held on May 28, the UV also awarded honorary degrees to the Spanish stage director Manuel Montoro Tuells and the expert on education and democracy, Gilberto Guevara Niebla of Mexico.

The Universidad Veracruzana honored the significant contributions made by Mateo Valero in computer architecture, citing him as among the field's top contributors of the past 25 years.

In his acceptance speech, Valero thanked the university for bestowing the honor and recalled his ties with Mexico dating back to his childhood and numerous trips to cities around the country. He also emphasized the role of research as one of the main drivers of the country's economy. "A country must produce wealth in a sustainable manner if it is to offer a solid education and good healthcare to the entire population. The research being conducted also provides answers to the complexities facing modern societies. In short, we need to focus on and nurture our research."

UPC president Antoni Giró, a full professor at the Department of Computer Architecture, delivered the encomium honoring the director of the BSC. In his address, Giró praised the success achieved by Valero during his 36-year career, which has been characterized by "dedication and excellence, dedication and generosity, dedication and imagination, dedication and enthusiasm, dedication and presence, dedication and integrity, dedication and effort, effort and dedication."

For the UV, each honorary degree awarded during the ceremony recognizes an invaluable contribution to society. Thus, the honorees will join the senate of the UV, which already includes the writers Sergio Pitol, Carlos Monsiváis, Eduardo Galeano, Fernando Savater, Ernesto Cardenal and Héctor Aguilar Camín, and the cartoonist Helio Flores.

About Mateo Valero

Born in Alfamén (Zaragoza) on August 6, 1952, he holds a doctorate in Telecommunications Engineering. Since 1974, he has been a professor at the Department of Computer Architecture and, since 1983, a full professor at the UPC. He has published approximately 500 articles related to high-performance computer architecture. He helped found the BSC (which includes the MareNostrum supercomputer) and has served as its director since its launch in 2004.

He has received numerous honors, including the Eckert-Mauchly Award (the world's top prize for research in computer architecture); the Rei Jaume I Prize (Generalitat de Valencia) and two national research awards; the Julio Rey Pastor Prize for research and the Leonardo Torres Quevedo Prize in computer engineering. In 2001, he was named a fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and, in 2002, a fellow of Intel and a fellow of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM).

He is a founding member of the Royal Engineering Academy of Spain, an academic member of the Royal Academy of Exact, Physical and Natural Sciences, and a member of the Royal Academy of Sciences and Arts of Barcelona.

In 1998, he was chosen as the "favorite son" of his hometown, Alfamén, which gave his name to the local secondary school. In April 2008, the government of Aragon honored his career and

contributions in the field of computer architecture by naming him Aragonese Man of the Year. In November of the same year, the European Commission selected the 25 most influential European scientists in Information and Communication Technologies based on the prizes they have been awarded during their careers as scientists (Hall of Fame).

Valero was also awarded honorary degrees by Chalmers University of Technology (May 2008), the University of Belgrade (September 2008) and the University of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria (November 2009). In September 2009, he was named member of the Academy of Europe, and in April 2010 received the 2009 Harry H. Goode Memorial Award in recognition of his seminal contribution to vector, out-of-order, multithreaded and VLIW processor architectures.

For more information, go to http://personals.ac.upc.edu/mateo/.