Mateo Valero receives the Euro-Par Achievement Award 2015

28 August 2015

Recipients are researchers with outstanding merits in parallel computing.

Christian Lengauer and Mateo Valero during the presentation of the award.

Mateo Valero has received the Euro-Par Achievement Award 2015. Euro-Par is a major series of European conferences on parallel processing. The Euro-Par Steering Committee has conveyed the Euro-Par Achievement Award at the yearly Euro-Par conference since 2008 to individuals who have made special contributions to parallel processing. The 2015 edition of Euro-Par was held in Vienna, Austria, from August 24 to 28. It was hosted at the Vienna University of Technology and was organized by the Research Group for Parallel Computing.

Recipients must have made both an extraordinary impact on parallel processing, and must have contributed significantly to the Euro-Par conference series. In his address, Prof. Christian Lengauer, Chair of the Euro-Par Steering Committee, described Valero as the most prominent computer scientist in Spain and the most prominent academic computer architect in Europe and emphasized “his over 400 invited talks and over 800 academic descendants as an impact unequalled. He has been involved in the organization of more than 300 international conferences”. Lengauer highlighted Valero's allegiance to Euro-Par through his seminal membership of the steering committee in the mid-Nineties and his co-authorship of a dozen Euro-Par papers - most importantly though, he stressed Valero’s pleasant and disarming disposition and way of interacting with people.

Mateo Valero expressed his gratitude to the steering committee for the award which he “collected on behalf of my collaborators and doctoral students”. In his address, Valero said he had tried to follow the advice of the people who are closest to him and academically he followed the instructions of his mentor Thomas Lang:  "hire people better than you". Valero also stressed the importance of giving back to the community, which is why he says he always makes an effort to participate in talks and conferences.

Past recipients are:

2014: Henri E. Bal (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, The Netherlands)
2013: Arndt Bode (TU Munich, Germany)
2012: Barbara Chapman (University of Houston, U.S.A.)
2011: Michel Cosnard (INRIA, France)
2010: Jack Dongarra (University of Tennessee / Oak Ridge National Laboratory, U.S.A.)
2009: Paul Feautrier (ENS Lyon, France)
2008: Ron Perrott (Oxford e-Research Centre, U.K.)

About Euro-Par

Euro-Par is the prime European conference covering all aspects of parallel and distributed processing, ranging from theory to practice, from small to the largest parallel and distributed systems and infrastructures, from fundamental computational problems to full-fledged applications, from architecture, compiler, language and interface design and implementation to tools, support infrastructures, and application performance aspects. Euro-Par’s organization into topics provides an excellent forum for focused technical discussion, as well as interaction with a large, broad and diverse audience.

Photos: Christian Lengauer and Mateo Valero at the presentation of the award.