Mateo Valero, Honorary Academician in the Royal European Academy of Doctors

16 June 2022

The RAED is a public law corporation of a scientific, technical and artistic nature, which has 20 Nobel Prize winners among its Academics.

The director of the Barcelona Supercomputing Centro Nacional de Supercomputación (BSC-CNS), Mateo Valero, has officially entered the Royal European Academy of Doctors (RAED) as an Honorary Academician. The ceremony took place yesterday and in addition to Valero, Randy K. Avent, founding president of Florida Polytechnic University, and Hisham El-Sherif, leading authority on the Information and Knowledge Society in Egypt, Middle East, and the developing world., entered as corresponding academics.

Alfredo Rocafort, president of the RAED points out that with the incorporation of "these illustrious Academics, from the technological field, the Royal Corporation continues to have the most brilliant and illustrious minds in the knowledge of the challenges that society is facing today and that It forces us to rethink the world in the face of the profound and disruptive changes that are taking place”.

The response speech was given by José Ramón Calvo, president of the RAED's Institute for International Cooperation. Calvo points out that Professor Mateo Valero “is considered one of the 25 most influential researchers in Spain, has honorary doctorates from 10 universities, he is a member of 9 academies and a prominent member of the most important international artificial intelligence and supercomputing organizations. However, Calvo highlights “the pedagogical and didactic nature of the contributions of our new Honorary Academician. They summarize in a concise and direct way, some of his thoughts on topics as varied as the culture of effort, so reviled today by many of our rulers and generators of inefficient laws to drag that car of culture to which Ramón y Cajal referred, or the constant search for knowledge”.

About Mateo Valero

The director of BSC holds the three most important awards worldwide: the Eckert-Mauchly Prize in Computer Architecture, awarded by the ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) and the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers), as well as the Seymour Cray Prize in Supercomputing and the Charles Babbage Prize in Parallel Computers, both awarded by the IEEE.

He has also been awarded two national research prizes (Julio Rey Pastor, in 2001, and Leonardo Torres Quevedo, in 2006) and is a member of nine scientific academies.

For his significant contributions, he is considered one of the most important contributors to Computer Architecture in the last 25 years. He has published approximately 700 articles, has collaborated in the organisation of more than 300 international conferences and has given more than 600 lectures.

Mateo has 10 Honoris Causa awards. He is Doctor Honoris Causa of the Chalmers University of Technology, University of Belgrade, University of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, University of Veracruz, University of Zaragoza, University Complutense of Madrid, University of Cantabria, Doctor Honoris Causa elect of the University of Granada and Doctor Honoris Causa of CINVESTAV.

Further information here.

About the RAED

La RAED es una corporación de derecho público de carácter científico, técnico y artístico; que tiene por objeto “la investigación, el estudio, el fomento y la extensión del conocimiento en su sentido más amplio”. Nació en el año 1914, actualmente está presidida por el Dr. Alfredo Rocafort, catedrático de la Universitat de Barcelona, y entre sus académicos destacan importantes personalidades del mundo de la ciencia, la economía y de la cultura como 20 premios Nobel y otras personalidades internacionales como la escritora y ex presidenta de Ecuador, Rosalía Arteaga; el ex presidente de Uruguay, Luis Alberto Lacalle; Pedro Nueno, profesor de IESE, los Hermanos Roca y otras figuras de la ciencia como la divulgadora Sonia Fernández-Vidal, entre otros.


  • See video of the event below.